Four Years later

No, my left knee and hip are still not ‘ok’. And Kerry, who’s also a real regular, said the other day: it’ll probably be for life…

Well, I did have that fantasy of getting my body back into the shape of the 29-year-old who used to ski, play tennis, do acrobatics on horses and climb the Saleve mountain near Geneva.

But what is my progress? Let me count:

  1. I am stronger, fitter and distinctly more connected with the various limbs of my body
  2. Pain is effectively gone. Back pain completely. Every back bend is a miracle! However, as the hip joint keeps re-setting itself, I do experience the odd moments of discomfort reminding me of the agonies I’ve experienced.
  3. My shoulders are freeer than ever, while my legs are stronger than ever. Thus I walk so much better, and I can even run again! I’ve only tried up to the traffic lights, but still!
  4. Going down stairs is an ongoing test for progress, but all in all, I feel terrific when I’m out of that studio.
  5. Inside, I notice the shortcomings of knee and hip differently, depending on the posture. But progress keeps happening, which is why I continue: with love, zest, joy, commitment, perseverance and utter amazement and gratitude.
Published in: on March 24, 2009 at 1:10 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bikramyogastory.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/four-years-later/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Had a question for u on this one ?
    Does regular practice of Bikram’s Hot yoga makes the skin dark ?
    I am an Indian and want to try it..
    In US or Europe,it is cold so hot yoga is in fact good..
    but I am afraid that due to the overall hot climate in our country
    more heat in the class every single day might damage/darken the skin and might be too much for the body also ?

    Can I pl have ur feed back on that ?
    Cheers

    • Hi, dear Amit,

      Remember that the founder is an Indian who’s living with his Indian wife in Los Angeles. I would be VERY surprised if it had any influence of the kind that you’re afraid of. You’re simply sweating like in a sauna while exercising. The heat has the purpose of softening your muscles so that you can stretch them better.

      Good luck with it!!!

      Sabine

  2. hi

    i want to know if bikram yoga can make you more flexible like can it help you do center splits and reach your foot to your head?

    • Bikram Yoga balances the strength and flexibility of your body. The heat helps stretch your muscles and bend your bones more. Hence I would say YES to do center splits and reach your foot to your head. However, I have found that the postures are there to heal my joints, not to “excel” in these positions.


Leave a Reply

